A. Montague Israel, QC Prize

The A. Montague Israels, Q.C. Prize is awarded annually to a student from the graduating class of the Bar Admission Course who demonstrates a sense of justice transcending technical competence. Established in 1974, this award, honours the memory of  A. Montague Israels, Q.C.  (1904-1973) recognizing those attributes of scholarship, character, skill, and breadth of interest that he valued and so well exemplified in his own life and career.

As a practitioner and educator, Mr. Israels was known for kindly extending his help to students and to new lawyers and for his regard for the highest traditions and standards of professional ethics and service. It was his desire that lawyers be well-rounded persons with interests and abilities outside the immediate range of their work. He also hoped that as citizens, his “Students” would serve their communities fully in all the ways in which they were capable.

The prize winner is selected by a special Selection Committee and announced at the Mass Call ceremony in June.

How to Submit a Nomination

A package of materials including the application form is available in early spring for articling students who wish to be considered for the prize. Students may also choose to nominate a classmate on their behalf. For more information, please contact Lisa Ehnes, Administrative Assistant| Admissions and Education Committee at lehnes@lawsociety.mb.ca.

2020 A. Montague Israel, QC Prize Winner

Congratulations Kendall Nicole Dyck

A cause of great importance to Ms. Dyck and one of many reasons she is this year’s recipient is for her work in the area of mental health. While attending Robson Hall, she helped create the Robson Hall Mental Health Group.

Ms. Dyck, seen photographed signing the Roll Books of the Law Society of Manitoba, is joined by her dog Zoebear. She shares the important supporting role Zoebear had in prioritizing her mental health on her journey to becoming a lawyer.

She’s been with me since I started University at twenty and decided to go to law school, and she’s been a big part of my mental health support plan for the twelve years it took me to get here. She’s been an extremely important part of my journey to becoming a lawyer.

Justice David Kroft Official Announcement

Past Award Recipients


Daniel Reimer (2019)

Rebecca Heller (2018)

Julia Ryckman (2017)

Katrine Marie Dilay (2016)

Melissa Iolanda Cattini (2015)

Joëlle Pastora Sala (2014)

Corey Shefman (2013)

Leith Robertson (2012)

Katie Louise Hall (2011)

Meredith Leigh Mitchell (2010)

Leandro Damian Zylberman (2009)

Elizabeth Robin Mary McCandless (2008)

Kael McKenzie (2007)

Shereese Rachelle Qually (2006)

Malinda Anne Yee Yung Yuen (2005)

Jennifer Lynne Dundas (2004)

Sacha Ralph Paul (2003)

Nancy Gorett Ferreira Fazenda (2002)

Rekha Nadine Malaviya (2001)

Adrian Barrett Frost (2000)

Brenlee Eve Carla Carrington Trepel (1999)

Jody Stephen Langhan (1998)

Duncan Armstrong Fraser (1997)

Shane Isaac Perlmutter (1996)

Christopher John Mainella (1995)

Keith David LaBossiere (1994)

Merrell-Ann S. Phare (1993)

Mario Jorge Santos (1992)

Loretta Ann Meade Kocsis (1991)

Pascale-Sonia Roy (1990)

Heather Louise Proven (1989)

Melanie Logan Lautt (1988)

Paul Donaldson Edwards (1987)

Thomas Larry McMahon (1986)

John Willard Burgess (1985)

Jonathan Barry Kroft (1984)

Regina Ford Novek (1983)

Lori T. Spivak (1982)

James Alfred Ripley (1981)

Robert Gabor (1980)

Mona Glenne Brown (1979)