

MINUTES

Annual Meeting of Members

Date: Thursday, June 27, 2019

Time: 12:30 pm

Location: Law Society Offices, 200 - 260 St. Mary Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Present:	Anita Southall, President Lynda Troup, Vice President Kathy Bueti, Past President Neil Cohen, Officer-at-Large Susan Boulter Miriam Browne Victoria Cornick Grant Driedger Paul Grower Ashley Joyce	Patricia Kloepfer Brian McLeod Christian Monnin Wayne Onchulenko Sacha Paul Vincent Sinclair Gerrit Theule Karen Webb Gerri Wiebe
Teleconference:	Dr. Amarjit Arneja	
Guests:	Ross Earnshaw Emily Cummings Tamara Edkins Ellie Einarson	Jonathan Herman David Swayze Erin Wilcott
Regrets:	Dr. Jonathan Black-Branch Richard Buchwald Kyle Dear	Jay Funke Brittany Goodman

Staff Present:

Kris Dangerfield Leah Kosokowsky Pat Bourbonnais Tana Christianson Eileen Derksen Joan Holmstrom Colleen Malone Deirdre O'Reilly Sean Rivera Alissa Schacter Darcia Senft Betta Wishart Simon Young

1.0 President's Welcome and Treaty Acknowledgement

Ms Southall, President, called the meeting to order at 12:30 pm. Treaty 1 Territory, the ancestral and traditional lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree and Dakota First Nations and the homeland of the Metis, was acknowledged. The guests in attendance were acknowledged and welcomed to the meeting.

2.0 Approval of Minutes

2.1 Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members of June 28, 2018

Motion: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members of June 28, 2018 be approved as presented.

MOVED: Mr. Driedger Seconded: Mr. Paul Carried.

Mr. Swayze and Dr. Arneja joined the meeting at 12:40 pm.

3.0 Approval of Audited Financial Statements

3.1 Audited Financial Statements for the Practising Year Ending March 31, 2019

Motion: That the audited financial statements for the practising year ending March 31, 2019 be approved as presented.

MOVED: Mr. Monnin Seconded: Mr. Onchulenko Carried.

4.0 Annual Report

4.1 Consideration of the Draft Annual Report for the Practising Year Ending March 31, 2019

Benchers received for information the draft Annual Report covering the period April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019.

5.0 Appointment of Auditors

5.1 Appointment of Auditors for the 2019/2020 Practising Year

Motion: That Deloitte LLP be appointed as the auditors for the Law Society of Manitoba for the 2019/2020 fiscal year.

MOVED: Ms Bueti Seconded: Ms Boulter Carried.

6.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the President adjourned the meeting at 1:00 pm.