A. Montague Israels, QC Prize

The A. Montague Israels, Q.C. Prize is awarded annually to a student from the graduating class of the Bar Admission Course who demonstrates a sense of justice transcending technical competence. Established in 1974, this award, honours the memory of  A. Montague Israels, Q.C.  (1904-1973) recognizing those attributes of scholarship, character, skill, and breadth of interest that he valued and so well exemplified in his own life and career.

As a practitioner and educator, Mr. Israels was known for kindly extending his help to students and to new lawyers and for his regard for the highest traditions and standards of professional ethics and service. It was his desire that lawyers be well-rounded persons with interests and abilities outside the immediate range of their work. He also hoped that as citizens, his “Students” would serve their communities fully in all the ways in which they were capable.

The prize winner is selected by a special Selection Committee and announced at the Mass Call ceremony in June.

How to Submit a Nomination

A package of materials including the application form is available in early spring for articling students who wish to be considered for the prize. Students may also choose to nominate a classmate on their behalf. For more information, please contact Lisa Ehnes, Administrative Assistant| Admissions and Education Committee at lehnes@lawsociety.mb.ca.

2023 A. Montague Israels, QC Prize Winner

Congratulations Nikolai Bola

The journey of this year’s recipient to join the legal profession has not been a traditional one. Nikolai has overcome many barriers and adversities to achieve his lifelong goal of becoming a lawyer. These life experiences have shaped the passionate advocate Nikolai strives to be every day, supporting marginalized communities and those facing injustices. Nikolai has already made a difference through his volunteer work in 2SLGBTTQ* community, helping create safer spaces for transgender people of colour and mentoring 2SLGBTTQ* youth from Indigenous communities. Demonstrating resiliency and excellence in his work, Nikolai is someone the selection committee believes will continue to make a significant contribution to his community and the practice of law.

Past Award Recipients

Menal Al Fekih (2022)

Anjali Sandhu (2021)

Kendall Nicole Dyck (2020)

Daniel Reimer (2019)

Rebecca Heller (2018)

Julia Ryckman (2017)

Katrine Marie Dilay (2016)

Menal Al Fekih (2022)

Anjali Sandhu (2021)

Kendall Nicole Dyck (2020)

Daniel Reimer (2019)

Rebecca Heller (2018)

Julia Ryckman (2017)

Katrine Marie Dilay (2016)

Melissa Iolanda Cattini (2015)

Joëlle Pastora Sala (2014)

Corey Shefman (2013)

Leith Robertson (2012)

Katie Louise Hall (2011)

Meredith Leigh Mitchell (2010)

Leandro Damian Zylberman (2009)

Elizabeth Robin Mary McCandless (2008)

Kael McKenzie (2007)

Shereese Rachelle Qually (2006)

Malinda Anne Yee Yung Yuen (2005)

Jennifer Lynne Dundas (2004)

Sacha Ralph Paul (2003)

Nancy Gorett Ferreira Fazenda (2002)

Rekha Nadine Malaviya (2001)

Adrian Barrett Frost (2000)

Brenlee Eve Carla Carrington Trepel (1999)

Jody Stephen Langhan (1998)

Duncan Armstrong Fraser (1997)

Shane Isaac Perlmutter (1996)

Christopher John Mainella (1995)

Keith David LaBossiere (1994)

Merrell-Ann S. Phare (1993)

Mario Jorge Santos (1992)

Loretta Ann Meade Kocsis (1991)

Pascale-Sonia Roy (1990)

Heather Louise Proven (1989)

Melanie Logan Lautt (1988)

Paul Donaldson Edwards (1987)

Thomas Larry McMahon (1986)

John Willard Burgess (1985)

Jonathan Barry Kroft (1984)

Regina Ford Novek (1983)

Lori T. Spivak (1982)

James Alfred Ripley (1981)

Robert Gabor (1980)

Mona Glenne Brown (1979)