Richard J. Scott Award

The Richard J. Scott Award is presented annually by the Law Society of Manitoba to an individual who advances the rule of law and contributes to a strong and independent legal profession through advocacy, litigation, teaching, research, writing or mentoring.

The award honours former Chief Justice Richard Scott, who served as Manitoba’s Chief Justice for over 20 years and is a Past President of the Law Society of Manitoba. The Honourable Mr. Scott serves as Chair of the Selection Committee.

How to Submit a Nomination

Submissions should include the nominee’s C.V. and an explanation as to why the nominee deserves this award. The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2022.

Regular Mail

Chief Executive Officer
The Law Society of Manitoba
200 – 260 St. Mary Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0M6

Or Email

Pat Bourbonnais

Past Award Recipients

2021 Richard J. Scott Award Recipient

Heather Leonoff, Q.C.

Ms Leonoff is the Director of the Constitutional Law Branch of the Department of Justice with the Province of Manitoba. Throughout her career, she has demonstrated an unwavering and longstanding commitment to advancing the rule of law and has made significant contributions through her advocacy, teaching, writing and mentorship. Ms Leonoff has appeared before all levels of court and also assists Manitoba counsel to prepare for Supreme Court of Canada hearings through her work with the Supreme Court Advocacy Institute.


Robert L. Tapper, Q.C.


Saul Simmonds, Q.C.


Karen Dyck


John Myers


Jeff Hirsch


Allan Fineblit, Q.C.


Irene Hamilton, Q.C.


Byron Williams